The Long Run - Reel Big Fish

Viewed 22 times

Print this lyrics Print it!

Page format: Left Center Right
Direct link:
BB code:

The Long Run Lyrics

I used to hurry a lot, I used to worry a lot
I used to stay out till the break of day
But oh, that didn't get it, it was high time I quit it
I just couldn't carry on that way

Oh, I did some damage, you know it's true
Didn't know I was so lonely till I found you

You can go the distance
We'll find out in the long run, in the long run
We can handle some resistance
If our love is a strong one, is a strong one

People talkin' about us, they've got nothin' else to do
When it all comes down
We will still come through in the long run
Ooh, I want to tell you, it's a long run

You know I don't understand
Why you don't treat yourself better
Do the crazy things that you do
'Cause all the debutantes in Houston, baby
Couldn't hold a candle to you

Did you do it for love? Did you do it for money?
Did you do it for spite? Did you think you had to honey?

Who is gonna make it?
We'll find out in the long run, in the long run
I know we can take it
If our love is a strong one, is a strong one

Well, we're scared, but we ain't shakin'
We're kinda bent but we ain't breakin' in the long run
Ooh, I want to tell you it's a long run
Yeah, yeah, yeah in the long run
Ooh, I want to tell you it's a long run

Gonna find out, oh, we're gonna find out in long run
We're gonna find out, yeah, we're gonna find out in the long run
In the long run, yeah, yeah, yeah
Gonna find out, gonna find out in the long run

Lyrics provided by
Reel Big Fish ("RBF") is a ska punk band from Huntington Beach, California, United States who broke into the mainstream in the mid to late 1990s, formed in 1992.

Their debut album, "Everything Sucks" (1995), was an underground hit and led to a deal with Mojo Records (see also Mojo), an indie label. "Turn the Radio Off" (1996) established the band in the underground music scene, and they began touring throughout the USA. After the single "Sell Out" began breaking into the mainstream, including MTV, the album made an appearance on the charts. The ska revival was short-lived, however, and "Why Do They Rock So Hard?" (1998) did not lead the group to the mainstream.

Reel Big Fish released "Cheer Up" (2002) which began a movement into harder rock and pop sounds, with much less ska than the previous albums. The song "Where Have You Been?" was aimed at a wider audience, trying to drop the less popular ska sound, but was met with little mainstream success, despite the video. Their second most recent studio album was "We're Not Happy Until You're Not Happy" (2005).

They recently released "Our Live Album is Better Than Your Live Album" (2006) which includes 2 discs worth or their own tunes and a few covers of popular songs along with a DVD. They have worked on the soundtrack to BASEketball, which included a cover of A-Ha's Take On Me.

In 2006, they split from Jive records, who produced a "Best of" album against the will of the band, who could not prevent the release. The band has made a campaign to try and stop people buying the album.

Their latest album, "Monkeys For Nothing and the Chimps For Free" (2007) includes some songs that were previously recorded and released on other albums.

In 2009, they released "Fame, Fortune, and Fornication" an album composed of covers of older songs, including "Won't Back Down" by Tom Petty, and "Nothin' But a Good Time" by Poison.

Current members:

Aaron Barrett - guitar, lead vocals (1992–present)
Dan Regan - trombone, backing vocals (1994–present)
John Christianson - trumpet, backing vocals (2004–present)
Ryland Steen - drums (2005–present)
Derek Gibbs - bass guitar (2007–present)

Past members:

Ben Guzman - vocals (1992–1994)
Zach Gilltrap - keyboards/synthesizers (1992–1994)
Lisa Smith - guitar (1992–1994)
Eric Vismantes - trumpet (1994)
Stephan Reed - saxophone (1994)
Robert Quimby - trombone (1994–1995)
Adam Polakoff - saxophone (1994–1995)
Grant Barry - trombone (1995–1998)
Andrew Gonzales - drums (1992–1998)
Tavis Werts - trumpet (1994–2001)
Carlos de la Garza - drums (1999–2003)
Tyler Jones - trumpet (2001–2004)
Justin Ferreira - drums (2003–2005)
Matt Wong - bass, backing vocals (1992–2007)
Scott Klopfenstein - trumpet, guitar, keyboards, backing vocals (1995–2011) Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

View All

Reel Big Fish